I am a Ghost

Replacing me was so very easy for you–
too easy, like buying a new part at the store.
Proving that I was not special or unique,
just another temporary presence.

I am a ghost, and will always haunt.

“Once in a lifetime love!” you sobbed with joy–
what a fool I was to believe in fate.
I am just another bug on the windshield–
just another victim of the siren.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

Oh, how desperately you want to believe it never happened!
Why would you insult me so?
Destroying my heart and my pride was not enough–
now you must devalue our memory too?

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

You fear me so!
Scared that I will damage your pretty new life.
I did nothing to hurt you, only trying to give you joy–
yet now I terrify you.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

It is not my deeds that you fear–
it is my very existence.
The fact that I AM would expose your web,
and cause your world to crash.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

To have such a carefully architected life,
crafted on a foundation of deceit.
How desperately you want substance to lie beneath the illusion–
the underlying truth must cause you much distress!

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

Almost hysterically you want to believe I am not here,
and that I never was.
For in seeing me you may see yourself,
and that might be too much to take.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

If you see me, will you also see all the others like me?
Understandable, not wanting to inspect the collateral damage.
Such an ugly sight, the trail of souls,
left broken and suffering in your wake!

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

So you choose denial, pretending I never existed–
looking through me as if I am not here.
Hoping if you ignore me long enough I will go away–
disappear forever and never be found.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

If only you would hate me–
hate me so that I can move on too!
For the opposite of love is not hate,
it is indifference.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

You treat me like nothing,
and that is beyond cruel.
To treat me like I don’t exist now,
when your world revolved around me before.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

You will not deny my existence–
I won’t let you.
You stole my heart and my pride,
but you will not steal my being.

I am a ghost and will always haunt.

You treat me like nothing,
and look through me as if I cannot be seen.
Very well, have it your way–
I will be what you made me.

I am a ghost, and will always haunt

I will be the spirit that can be felt but rarely seen,
the spectre whose presence will darken a room.
A wisp, I will give you chills when you least expect it,
disturbing you with memories of your past.

I am a ghost, and will always haunt

I hold no malice towards you,
and will not actively conspire against you.
I only want to move on to my next life,
as you did so easily.

I am a ghost, and will always haunt

It goes against nature to be invisible,
nor is it enjoyable.
It is quite a strain to remain in this state,
and I can only hold it for so long.

I am a ghost, and will always haunt

From time to time I am compelled to make my presence felt–
in little spurts here and there.
To give me relief from this unnatural state,
so sorry if this happens at the most inconvenient times.

I am a ghost, and will always haunt

I am what you made me,
I am a ghost.
Ghosts will do what ghosts do,
they will haunt.

I am now a ghost, and will always haunt you.

Leave a Reply

