Too Soon To Take A Date to Office Christmas Party?

I am moving out of this house and leaving marriage purgatory Nov 30 – Dec 5. (December 5 is the day we turn over possession.)

My office Christmas party is December 9. I have never been to a party like this stag in my entire life. There will be another couple there that we are trying to recruit that I will be in charge of schmoozing. How do I effectively schmooze while flying solo?

Question: Can I invite a date to the party? Won’t that make the wives at the party mad? Won’t that fuel the rumor mill? Isn’t that unfair to my date to have that much scrutiny?

On the other hand, it is usually a damn good party.

Thoughts?

7 thoughts on “Too Soon To Take A Date to Office Christmas Party?

  1. Do the work peeps know you’re getting divorced? If so, I say go for it. You have to make the break sometime. BUT, warn the date ahead of time what she might be walking in to. It’s your party too. Have fun!

    • Most people I care about at the office know what is going on. However, I would not say it is public knowledge yet. But if I take someone I would obviously have to spread the word first. Thanks for the input Syracuse…

  2. I’m torn on this. A big part of me says take a date – but definitely let her know what she’s up against. If you’re worried about some flack from your co-workers, then go stag. If it’s traditionally a REALLY good party, you may want to go stag anyway and just have FUN.

    Bear in mind, if I may extend the “smooth reentry” metaphor, any landing you can walk away from is a good one…

  3. No way, no way, no way! Absolutely too awkward for everyone involved. Here’s the challenge: fly solo. Learn to be on your own in these kinds of situations. It was one of the hardest things I had to learn to do, but you know what? Now I like it. (I actually went to a movie by myself last week. I never thought I’d do that!) And besides, you might meet a hot, single girl there… 🙂

    • No. I will be only one without date. The only bright side to going alone is that some of the nosey wives will spread the word that I am available, and that will pay dividends later.

      Going alone isn’t a problem. Going as third wheel and being responsible for keeping recruit’s wife impressed without help is where real discomfort lies.

Leave a Reply

