Smooth Calls Out the Elephant

When Deliberately Delicious plays the Alphabet Game, she always parts on good terms by writing the nicest letters. My letters, on the other hand, seem to contain more…venom. 

Dear H,

God I hope you end up going out with whoever got under your skin. I hope you go out with him long enough that I have a chance to see you two together. It probably won’t happen, because it probably won’t last long, for there is a reason the “bird in the hand is worth two in a bush” saying is so popular….

I hope you two do go out long enough for me to see you together. I will thoroughly enjoy seeing the secret look of fear behind your eyes. I will see your wheels turning, wondering if you are getting played yet again by another man.

And I will enjoy seeing him. I will get to look at him and wonder if he knows the real you–how insecure you really are inside. I will wonder if he knows that behind all your pretty manners and affection, that you are a frightened little girl who doesn’t even know what she wants.

I hope for his sake he doesn’t go out of town. All he has to do is leave you alone long enough for your mind to wonder. That’s when your fears and doubts grow, and you will be attracted to whoever happens to be in proximity to you at the time…anyone who can distract you from the feelings of anxious attachment will do.

You don’t want to be tempted by different men. But you can’t help it. You are like a car in the center lane–you are just going with the flow of traffic and not really in control as much as you like to believe.

Fuck you hate being alone.

Falling for you will condemn someone to a miserable life. The poor bastard.

You have the outward appearance of an oak. But in truth you are as flexible as a blade of prairie grass, bending to the slightest change in breeze. Your morals, your goals, your ideal man…all bendable, changing day by day and hour by hour.

I would feel sorry for the guy, except that I’m reminded that even I, a total rookie, was able to see through the BS. You called it “intuition”, but it is really only common sense. If a rookie like me can see through it, a seasoned veteran will have no problems seeing straight through to your soul. Your pretty manners might camouflage it for a short time, but your anxious attachment will eventually stick out like a sore thumb.

Guess what? I know who it is. Not that it matters, but it was easy to figure out.

Maybe you enjoy being used.

I will definitely enjoy seeing you again H.

Shhhh…be quiet now. We shouldn’t talk about the elephant in the room any more….

~Smooth

3 thoughts on “Smooth Calls Out the Elephant

Leave a Reply

