The Masters of Smooth

Yesterday I confessed to handling an awkward situation rather poorly. I got uptight, lost my cool, and was not smooth at at all. That little episode got me reminiscing of movie scenes in which men handled awkward situations gracefully. Smoothly, if you will. What follows are some samplings that came to mind, in no particular order, that illustrate being smooth. What scenes did I miss that exemplify “smooth”?

Rick Blaine, Casablanca, Humphrey Bogart

(Credit: Wikimedia Commons)

SPOCK from STAR TREK

As you have probably deduced from the mass quantities of Star Trek references on this blog, I am a huge Star Trek fan. Mr. Spock stands out as my favorite character by far. I’ve always loved Spock because I am so unlike him. This quote is from The Enterprise Incident episode. Guess what–Kirk isn’t the only one that had a way with women! (The Romulan Commander was a hot female…)

Romulan Commander: I neglected to mention. I’ll expect you for dinner. We have much to discuss.
Spock: Indeed.
Romulan Commander: Allow me to… to rephrase. Will you join me for dinner?
Spock: I am honored, Commander. Are the guards also invited?

JAKE GITTES from CHINATOWN

Evelyn Mulwray: Hollis seems to think you’re an innocent man.

Jake Gittes: Well, I’ve been accused of a lot of things before, Mrs. Mulwray, but never that.

CHILI PALMER from GET SHORTY

Ronnie Wingate: Excuse me bro’, but who the fuck are you?
Chili Palmer: I’m the one tellin’ you how it is…

THOMAS CROWN from THE THOMAS CROWN AFFAIR (1968)

Thomas Crown: Left early. Please come with the money… or, you keep the car. All my love, Tommy.

THOMAS CROWN from THE THOMAS CROWN AFFAIR (1999)

Thomas Crown: You look wonderful!

Catherine Banning: Thank you! How are you?

Thomas Crown: Popular.

RICK BLAIN from CASABLANCA

Ugarte: You despise me, don’t you?
Rick: If I gave you any thought I probably would.

DOC HOLLIDAY from TOMBSTONE

Johnny Ringo: My fight’s not with you, Holliday.

Doc Holliday: I beg to differ, sir. We started a game we never got to finish. “Play for Blood,” remember?

Johnny Ringo: Oh that. I was just foolin’ about.

Doc Holliday: I wasn’t.

DOC HOLLIDAY from TOMBSTONE

Turkey Creek Jack Johnson: Why you doin’ this, Doc?

Doc Holliday: Because Wyatt Earp is my friend.

Turkey Creek Jack Johnson: Friend? Hell, I got lots of friends.

Doc Holliday: …I don’t.

DOC HOLLIDAY from WYATT EARP

Frank Mclaury: You’re next on my list, Holliday. You better get used to seeing my face, ’cause it’s the last thing you’re gonna see.

Doc Holliday: McLaury, seeing your face would be a pleasant change. I understand most of your enemies got it in the back.

DOC HOLLIDAY from WYATT EARP

Doc Holliday: “All of you can kiss my rebel dick”.

GUS MACRAE from LONESOME DOVE

Gus MaCrae, “Money well spent…BOTH times.”

I have to explain this one. Gus paid $50 to sleep with a whore. Later, the whore’s boyfriend was buying a horse from Gus, with same $50 coin Gus had used to pay the whore. To which Gus replied, “Money well spent..BOTH times.”

DANNY OCEAN from OCEAN’S ELEVEN

Tess: You’re a thief and a liar.

Danny: I only lied about being a thief, I don’t do that anymore.

Tess: Steal?

Danny: Lie.

Tess: I’m with someone who doesn’t have to make that kind of distinction.

Danny: No, he’s very clear on both.

What movie moments do you think exemplify smooth?

4 thoughts on “The Masters of Smooth

    • I agree that it is one of the sexiest movies ever. I love the banter and the way their connection is adversarial with mutual respect.

      Puzzling that a sequel doesn’t exist.

    • You know the dialog is good in a movie when you can watch it multiple times and continue to be entertained. The only Star Trek with dialog that solid is Wrath of Khan, but I had to include Spock because he is unflappable. The opposite of me.

      They say the script of Tombstone was way more complicated than could be shown in the movie, with many different subplots that were not developed. Makes me wish their was a book, or mini-series, or TV show…

Leave a Reply

